Reflecting on the course

Now that were almost done with this course, I think it is time to reflect on the past two months. I had a great time with this course; not only was it fun but it also taught me a lot about key aspects of design, animation and video games. I enjoy gaming and thought I knew everything about games and game design but I realized that I didn’t because I learned many new things about game design in this course.

 

Some things I liked about the course were the discussions in class. We had some fun and interesting conversations in class that I never had before in other subjects, which are more mainstream. We discussed many topics and subjects over the two months.

 

Another thing I liked was the hands on learning that we did in class. With every unit we did hands on learning and not just learning from a textbook. I like this method because you experience and have fun while learning. Mr. LaForce showed us how to follow along in class rather than reading from a textbook. He also showed us how to use Construct 2.

 

Another thing I liked was the incorporation of technology into the class. We watched Ted Talks, used GIMP to design logos and print design, got to see how to use a 3D printer, etc. I think we never got bored because there was so many different ways to learn and we were always on the edge of our seats wondering what kind of lesson we would have next.

Mark the Librarian at imagine Space. Picture Taken from here

Mark the Librarian at imagine Space. Picture Taken from here

I would have liked to have seen a bit more time dedicated to game design. I feel like the game design unit was a little rushed since it was the last unit and we had to wrap up things quickly. I would have also liked a game day to learn the history of games and play some popular game.

Game design concepts. Picture Taken From here.

Game design concepts. Picture Taken From here.

I also feel like a little too much time was spent on the design unit. I know that design is a very big part of technology but I think we could have cut the time down by one week and spend more time on animation and game design.

Concepts of Design. Picture taken from here.

Concepts of Design. Picture taken from here.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course and had a lot of fun over the past two months. The combination of a great teacher and great learning materials and the chance to use new technology made this course unique and one to remember. I hope to continue with some of the projects in the future that I started on in this course.

Leave a Reply

